Rediscovering Discovery

Week 7

What did I do?

Discovery brainstorm 

A table of synonyms, antonyms and idioms for discovery. Although I had to rely on dictionary.com by the end of the activity I feel that it did a great deal for my understanding of the area of study. I have realised how flexible ‘discovery’ can be through looking at Robert Gray’s poetry and finding related words for the topic has helped me to think about the varying angles from which it can be written about.

Class reread and discussed The Late Ferry

This included analysing the techniques used and the meaning of the poem as a class. The Late Ferry was a poem of self-discovery, exploring the experience of taking a spiritual and physical journey (much like in Journey, the North Coast) and the significance of leaving a place of familiarity. The context of Robert Gray plays a fair role in the poem as there are many cultural allusions and metaphors that hold significant meaning to him personally. The metaphor of a tomato patch’ compares the unadventurous nature of the extravagant yacht, while the rickety wooden ferry will journey out of the harbour late into the night. The harbour is portrayed and ‘huge’ and ‘dark’, this along with the personification of the ferry searching about for a light switch conveys a mood of apprehension, mystery and of ominous feeling. Here Gray expresses tension and fear of the future – of what may be uncovered. There is also a major juxtaposition between the ferry being in the dark to the almost spotlighting effect in the last few stanzas of the poem; the ferry is conveyed as vulnerable in two ways.

Worked of creative writing piece.

In the past week I have asked my English teacher and a family member read through my unfinished draft (which, sadly, included a variable ending ). Both readers, I feel, recognised the main idea of the story, however from their responses I can see that my story is still far too ambiguous.

After receiving feedback, I wrote a fourth, completed draft without the poetry. This was 915 words and included the ending of the story (finally). However, after and throughout writing this draft, I realised some major and improvable faults in the plot. This had to do with the timeline of the story, as it progresses throughout (and skips) several years. I realised that if I was to continue with the alternate ending that I wrote for the last draft, I would need to narrow down the span of time in which the relevant events take place in the man’s life. Making this change will include changing the age of the persona, and therefore, their voice; there needs to be enough time for the man to change his ways after discovering what is wrong with the way that he is/was before.

While writing the fourth draft, I also developed more spontaneous insertion of techniques, especially for imagery and characterisation (without using so may words).

 

Image: Sandstein (2007) Old postcards and a Spyglass  http://www.flickr.com/photos/61219542@N00/1314358266 (Accessed 25/11/2016)

Leave a Reply

