The language of Memoirs

Weeks 6-8

What did I do?

Wrote Statement of Intent

“My Major work is going to be a series of fictional feminine perspectives based around the French Revolution of 1789-1791. This will feature the views of at least two historical figures, French Queen Marie-Antoinette and Charlotte Corday. This will be drafted and completed in the form of a short story. My major work may be categorised within the historical fiction genre.

Throughout the research, writing and development of my major work, I intend not to plagiarise the work of any other person. All research will be documented by a reference list and all articles, photocopy’s, etc., will be annotated, referenced and documented in a folder for markers and for my teacher to view. I will frequently and consistently update my progress journal in the form of an online blog which will be printed and stored with my documented research.”

This was signed by my teacher and myself and includes the web address to my blog journal entries [this site].

Read Memoirs of Mary Robinson, “Perditia” Illustrated Edition.

After sourcing this for an Extension 1 English assessment, on the change that was Romanticism, I realised that through reading the actual words of a person who lived during the time that I am studying I will more effectively understand their use of words so that I can replicate it in my story. Now, this seems very obvious and it sounds absolutely ridiculous to say that this was a stunning revelation to me, but it was. I have learnt that when I am inspired to write by a novel, character, event or an entire time period in general, I will adopt the style that I was inspired by. In the case of my Preliminary Extension 1 English fairy tale short story assessment, I wrote – or I attempted to write – in the style in which the 18th Century author wrote the story. I received a criticism that this proved that my work could have simply been plagiarised or that it was an uninventive exploration of the story and decided to take it as a compliment that I could make the reader think so.

I believe that, as I am writing about the people [women] of the French Revolution, that I should attempt to adopt the appropriate language to portray them. I will need to find any material of Marie-Antoinette’s writing that is possible to be sourced. The same applies for Charlotte Corday and any other women, most likely writers, in France in the 18th Century.

This will require heavy referencing in my reflection statement to avoid further thoughts plagiarism or suspicious comments.

Robinson M. Memoirs of Mary Robinson, “Perdita” Illustrated Edition. (1895) Dodo Press.

Image: http://burlaki.com/blog/category/memoirs/

Leave a Reply

