Reading…

Week 4 Holidays

What did I do?

Finished the audiobook of Richard III by William Shakespeare

As I was listening to this while I was sewing I have had to look at reviews and recounts of the plot and characters after finishing to confirm that I actually took in what I was hearing.

I was thinking of using The Boat by Nam Le as a related text for Richard III, more specifically the short story Hiroshima, as it is a series of recounts of real life situations and events, in the case of Hiroshima. Whether I do use this novel or not will depend on the topic context within which we will be studying Richard III. I loved the novel for its shameless writing style; Nam Le used the voice of his characters so well that I find that, even though it is quite crude throughout, I appreciate his form of writing immensely.

Began Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

The most important theme of Jane Eyre is independence. She frequently calls herself a “dependent” yet, throughout the novel, she strives to have her own will by never straying from her principle beliefs. She refuses to be ‘pushed around’ yet does not want to appear in any spotlight. She claims that she needs no-one else’s respect if she has her own, saying: “I care for myself. The more solitary, the more friendless, the more unsustained I am, the more I will respect myself. I will keep the law given by God”.

Bronte noted that women should not be silenced in speech. When Mr Rochester dresses as an old gypsy woman he speaks to Jane, saying: “the mouth … was never intended to be compressed in the eternal silence of solitude: it is a mouth which should speak much” .  Jane Eyre herself claims that she has a right to express her emotions; “asserting a right to predominate, to overcome, to live, to rise and reign at last: yes- and to speak.”

When reflecting on her life she demonstrates wisdom. “Well has Solomon said, ‘Better is a dinner of herbs where love is, than a stalled ox and hatred therewith.’      I would not now have exchanged Lowood with all its privations for Gateshead and its daily luxuries.”

Image: My own (edited with PicsArt)

Bronte. C. (1847) Jane Eyre. Penguin Random House UK. United Kingdom.

Leave a Reply

