Paper 1 Study Day

Week 4.5

Seminar Notes: (things that I stood out to me and that I need to apply to my study)

Extended Response

I need to analyse (unpack) the texts that I have studied in my response, rather than simply describe and state the evidence, in order to validate my argument.  I also need to get better at arguing in detail. The example that the presenter gave of a extended response structure had two arguments, each text owning a paragraph per argument, with well-formed links over the entire response, integrating the thesis throughout each paragraph and proceeding smoothly between each one. This was not entirely new to me, but I think that it is something that I should keep in mind for my own improvement.

My response needs to be concept-driven, not text-driven. The texts merely depict the concept and I need to convey what that is in my writing. My thesis will need to direct my response and unite my arguments. My ideas on the texts will need to be flexible so that I can answer any question from RUBRIC and my thesis should add to the question. Every word in an exam question is chosen specifically which means that I cannot afford to neglect any. I will need clear conceptual arguments for both my prescribed and related texts, giving them a balance of 60% and 40% accordingly.

Rather than having a topic sentence, I should aim for a ‘concept sentence’, making sure that my response will be about the idea (my thesis) and not just the about the text when answering the question. I’ll need to work on connecting my ideas throughout all paragraphs with subtle but easily seen links. When talking about my related text I should refer back to my prescribed text, to give meaning to my argument as well as unite both texts for my argument in my linking statement.

I’ll need to work on talking more about the composers than the characters. To do this I’ll have to look deeper into the context of my related texts in order to understand their messages (the what), as well as why each composer conveyed this message in the way that they did (how).

Robert Gray

The poems of Robert Gray’s poetry may reveal his development as a person and writer. The presenter showed us the published dates of the prescribed poems, as this has been the most reliable source of their dates that I could find, I am going to make sure that I learn these. These dates will definitely add to context – for example: Diptych was published around the time of his father’s death. They also show that Gray progressed away from imagery alone, and further into context.

Gray centres on the ordinary everyday events and finds/discovers the extraordinary, through imagery.

In poetry, meaning is compressed – one line to represent one paragraph of thought – and the meaning can usually be found in the last line/stanza. Gray uses images to build a mood or effect, discovering his present self by looking at the past. He invites us to witness this through the persona’s voice, the visual imagery, sound, classical allusion and through the senses.

The presenter also displayed a form of analysing poetry, by identifying the principles of discovery (from the RUBRIC). This involved identifying the stimulus for discovery, the participants and process of discovery, the outcome/discovery and the ramifications of the discovery.

Techniques shouldn’t drive my arguments, my statements should. However, I’ll need to make sure that I explain why specific techniques have been used when using them as evidence. I would also benefit from focusing on poetry specific techniques.

Concept of Discovery

Discovery is seeing what is around you. The discovery will depend on your individual mindset, how you see the world and the way that you discover.

The Area of Study is about the human condition, holding a mirror (text) up to humanity and seeing the flaws and values that exist.

What is the trigger of discovery? What is the response to said discovery? Why is this the response? What determines the ramifications of the discovery? What are these ramifications?

On Section II: USE STIMULUS! SHOW DON’T TELL! Read aloud practices to another person so that you correct yourself. Think about syntax/sound and the tension or peace that it will create. Synaesthesia and tricolons are good for description. To end astory better (which I know I do poorly) start and end in the same place but with a change.

Things I need to work on:

  • Analysing unseen texts.
  • Making my essay paragraphs flow and cover my thesis effectively.
  • How to answer questions from ALL aspects of RUBRIC with ALL of my texts.
  • My creative writing piece.

 

Image: My own …. knitting on the train

Knitting is cool!

Leave a Reply

