Speeching

Week 7

What did I do?

Class looked at the characterisation in Cloudstreet

The major characters of the novel were chosen by my classmates to be summarised. I looked at Oriel and Sam specifically. As I did this I refrained from researching notes on the characters, as I find that if I do that then I don’t fully form my own original opinions.

However, If I were asked a question on comparing characters, I am not sure that I would actually answer with either of them, although they are strong elements of the text. This is because they seem so deep by themselves that they should not be compared to the other characters, rather they should be compared to the setting, motifs and themes of the text as they represent so much more than just a spirited character.

Wrote my speech … 4 times (Assessment Task 4)

After four theses and three drafts I finally finished writing my speech on Cloudstreet. With there being two prompts, which I viewed similarly, I managed to create four counter arguements – one for each, and two which seemed to blend the prompts and were self-contradicting. I think it is safe to say that I over-analyse my own thoughts, especially with an assessment that is to be handed in where I seem to have too much time to work on it. Not that I am ungrateful for time!

However, throughout all four drafts I kept basically the same two or three topics/evidences which I drew from the text. One thing that I can learn from this assessment is that I need to broaden my analysis of Tim Winton’s Cloudstreet, not only so that it will ecompass a range of questions/topics on the book, but that I will have more varied and specific points of evidence within each of those topics.

One of these topics, which I struggled to condense, was the motif of the Aboriginal man in Cloudstreet, who appears to several of the characters, and seems integral to the story’s development. I think that I was drawn to this motif because it is so rich and can be taken from so many angles – which is probably why I struggled to use it minimally. What I did take from it, which I used for my speech, is that the history of Australia is timeless, it lives on in the future and the progression of a nation. Such history as the persecution of the Indigenous Australians cannot and should not be forgotten. In my speech I expressed this as Winton urging the characters and audience to learn from the past and take note of the values of the Aboriginal people. Values such as the importance of place, which the man conveys to both Sam and Quick, and which counters the reality of their displacement by colonisation. This is where I also saw context come into play in the novel in extreme ways.

 

 

Image: http://www.avopress.com/blog

Leave a Reply

